Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yes Man

Sunday, Jan. 4, 2009
12:10 a.m.
After being outside only to fill the bird feeder (and to dump the ashes from the wood stove onto the garden) Hubby, Buddy Boy and I took in a movie tonight, about a guy who leads a very dull and boring life until he goes to a seminar where he is exhorted to say yes to everything. He does, and his life becomes a roller coaster. It was fun.

Let’s see, what else can I report? The student whose range was so problematic last term emailed me just before Christmas because she didn’t like her mark (68%, which I thought was rather generous considering everything). I wrote her back an explanatory note, and then I didn’t check my email again until just this evening, the coward that I am.

As I expected, there was another email. This woman is one of those people who becomes very hard edged behind a keyboard, rather confrontational and with a sense that she is owed something. She is upset that the poor mark she got in my course (which counts for one lousy credit) brings her overall average down to below 80%. I emailed her back, apologizing but not backing down. What am I supposed to do here? The upshot is that she won’t be taking any courses in the winter term and she won’t be taking singing lessons when she comes back in the fall. I’m down with that, as Buddy Boy would say.

I’ll be going to visit my mom for a few days next week. Let’s see if I can take advantage of the cheap internet rates the bus company is offering.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>