Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

... and so it begins ...

Thursday, Jan. 1, 2009
9:14 p.m.
Hubby and I watched some TV, played a game of gin rummy (I won), yawned a lot (he actually fell asleep in front of the television) and kept looking at our watches. I finally stumbled upstairs to play on the computer at around 11:00 and he called me almost an hour later to come back down, whereupon we watched the ball fall in Times Square, toasted each other with Perrier and promptly went to bed. I slept until 11 o’clock this morning. That’s how tired I was. This getting old thing is for the birds.

The rest of the day was spent trying to keep warm. It’s absolutely frigid outside, around -20°C, below what my dad used to call “old-fashioned zero,” and even with the wood stove pouring out heat, my feet were like blocks of ice. Hubby worked on his opera, I started copying the first few pages of it, drinking copious amounts of tea and stuffing myself with hot porridge and soup and anything else that might warm my insides so that my outsides would feel it.

Buddy Boy got back from his party late this afternoon and we had a delicious pan-fried cod dinner (just like in Newfoundland!). I have no great hopes for 2009. Whatever happens to others seems to have very little effect on me. I just hope I stay reasonably happy, healthy, and not lacking for money. So far, so good.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>