Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A brief unburdening of professionally-related matters.

Thursday, Mar. 31, 2005
8:55 a.m.
I don�t know when I�ll get a chance at the computer today, so I thought I�d deposit a little something in the bank right now before I finish trying to memorize vocabulary for my Latin test (the operative word here is �trying�). The forecast high today is 8 to 12� C, and spring thaw (� propos yesterday�s entry) is well under way.

I did a very bad thing which I forgot to write up, probably due to embarassment, but I think I can relate it now. I had booked an extra lesson for my tenor on Monday morning at 11:00 since it was officially a school holiday and my usual morning soprano was gone for the weekend (we had made up that lesson earlier the week before). I totally forgot about it.
Instead, I was rehearsing at the cathedral with Musica N0va from 9:00 to 12:00.

On Tuesday morning before leaving for Latin I checked my email and found a note there asking where I had been. He had come for his lesson at the appointed time and I had not shown up. If this had happened to me as a teacher I would have been livid, but me not showing up is inexcusable. I quickly dashed off an email to him apologizing profusely, explaining my absence, and when I saw him in choir that afternoon he said it hadn�t really been a big deal since it had given him some extra practice time. I think we will have to have that extra lesson on Sunday. This is insane.

I have also discovered that juries are scheduled for the 14th and 15th of April. If my students are on the Thursday, three of them are screwed, because that was when I was hoping to give them their last lessons. I will have to be very careful in the future not to miss so much teaching. That and the illness that was rampant earlier in the term have really thrown a monkey wrench into getting all my contractual obligations completed. I wasn�t really away all that much; so let�s blame it on the illness, okay?

The other matter has to do with the accompanist for three of my tutees not returning their calls and not scheduling rehearsals with them. Everyone is getting rather anxious. I am tempted to find out where he lives and head over there with a posse, armed with torches and pitchforks. This is truly insupportable.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>