Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Birthday downpour

Thursday, Jul. 31, 2008
2:43 p.m.
One year ago today I flew from the Isle of Man to Glasgow, Scotland on a propellor plane through terrible turbulence, positive I was going to vomit, and softly sang through my repertoire of folk songs so that I wouldn’t. We had just spent a glorious five days visiting my dear friend darkomen whose 25th birthday it is today, blessed by blue skies, bright sunshine and warmth. The morning we left clouds moved in and rain fell, and continued to fall for several days after that. My memories of the Scottish highlands are wreathed with damp and fog.

It rained here this morning, an amazing torrential downpour accompanied by blinding flashes of lightning and deafening cracks of thunder. Little Princess and I sat in the kitchen with the back door open, watching and listening as she crocheted and I knitted. The power cut out for about 10 seconds once and some of the lightning strikes seemed to happen right on top of us.

Now the stream that runs alongside our property sounds like a rushing torrent. This is the wettest summer so far in recorded history.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>