Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Ah, young love.

Friday, Aug. 1, 2008
9:02 p.m.
I didn’t want to go, but I went and I’m happy I did.

One of my husband’s students is getting married tomorrow, a really lovely girl whom I have known now for many years. Her intended is the son of my sculpture professor, also a former music student and a very nice young man. They are a good match.

I was not invited to the wedding. It’s a small affair and I think the couple are paying for it themselves, which would account for the paucity of guests who are not close friends or family. Hubby, though, was asked to provide music for the ceremony and the reception, both on classical guitar and with his jazz trio. He’s still not a guest, this is purely a business arrangement.

They had the rehearsal this afternoon and a party afterwards, to which I was asked to come. I didn’t want to at first, not having been invited to the wedding and not being involved in any way, but I am now glad that I did go. It was at the home of the groom’s family and I got to have a nice chance to chat with my art professor and with his youngest son who is a year younger than my own Buddy Boy. The food was great and so were the desserts, and I am now so full I feel like I will explode if anyone touches me in the wrong place.

It didn’t rain today, for a change. The river is starting to subside, but I noticed a large tree trunk that has been left high and dry on the sitting rock. The forecast for tomorrow is thunderstorms, which will suck for the wedding. Keep your fingers crossed for the young couple, okay? I’m going to go to the ceremony. I don’t need an invitation for that.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>