Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Therrible Thursday

Thursday, Sept. 30, 2004
9:44 p.m.
I�m bagged. Belly dancing tonight was excruciating. My shoulder, which my doctor assured me over ten years ago would get better all by itself, is worse than ever, and the pain has spread to my upper arm (triceps I believe), which I can sort of deal with because it just feels like extreme muscle soreness, but lately I have been getting sudden shooting pains in the shoulder itself, but not in the same place where the pain has heretofore resided. It happens when I am giving a singing lesson, gesticulating grandly, and suddenly I wince in pain and the expression on my student's face becomes extraordinary. I must definitely make an appointment with my doctor (a different one than the one who �diagnosed� me in the past) so I can get an X-ray or ultrasound or whatever diagnostic procedure she thinks fit. All the snake arms in belly dancing caused me quite a bit of trial.

The weekend from hell is ahead of me. Tomorrow we host the artists who will be performing on the first concert of our in-house series, a couple from Montreal�she�s a singer/actor and he�s a pianist/composer�who will be performing music from South America for soprano, piano and/or electronics/tape. Meg will not eat, I am informed, before she sings. She might have a piece of toast and a cup of tea, but prefers to save her appetite for afterwards. Her husband is not so picky, and said he will join us for supper.

They leave Saturday morning, after Hubby beats alcides to a pulp at tennis (the man does not use the upper case in his name, that was not a typo), and my brother and his wife and son arrive sometime in the afternoon for three nights. So tomorrow I have to vacuum the downstairs (and the rest of the house too, to be honest), make the bed, clean the bathroom, and then do it all over again for my brother, plus make up the pull-out couch in the T.V. room. I also have a Latin test on Tuesday morning, and I have a whole list of vocabulary to memorize, plus plural endings for female/male/neuter in the first two declensions. I haven�t the foggiest when I�m going to get to crack a book and do that.

Otherwise, everything is fine. I�m enjoying being in choir so much I don�t know why I didn�t join years ago.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>