Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another rundown rundown.

Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2004
10:39 p.m.
Twenty-four hours ago, according to my buddy list, I posted my last entry. At least I�m consistent.

The G4 laptop went back to the university today, so we are down to one internet-enabled computer and three (sometimes four) users. This will seriously cut down on the amount of time I spend in the Diary1and chatroom, which is a good thing. It also shaves away at the time when I can actually update my diary, since someone is always either using the machine, or saying, �Mom, I need the computer,� and since it really is their computer, having been presented to them as a Christmas present, I must defer.

It was Wicked Wednesday today, four singing lessons taught, and much water consumed and excreted. I have taken to carrying a water bottle around with me, refilling it as necessary, because I find that my eyes dry out and my contacts become unwearable. This incessant drinking seems to actually help to some degree. But it also means that I am running to the bathroom every hour. The axiom bandied around at a conference I attended many years ago on the care of the professional voice was: Sing wet, pee pale.

I came up with one good story at B1ack Cat tonight. We were a small group, missing our token male and Margaret. We said goodbye to two of our members who leave soon to winter in warmer climes�Gail to Florida and Uta to Italy. Our numbers are dwindling. But Sally returns from Manitoba after Thanksgiving, which is just in two weeks, and we are looking forward to having her back with us.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>