Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Goodbye, J. We shall meet again elsewhere.

Saturday, July 2, 2005
5:09 p.m.
The weather has broken and it is actually cool today, quite a welcome change from that mind-numbing, soul-melting heat of the past few days. Wimbledon is almost over and my own tennis guy is off to battle it out for the semi-finals in a local tennis tournament. His quarter-final match this morning turned out to be a warm-up session against the tournament organizer since his opponent never showed. If successful, he gets to go for the gold (figuratively only speaking) tomorrow.

Last night he played his first ever jazz guitar concert in front of an audience of kids and adults as part of the summer music camp which has taken over our department facilities. Firstly, a Montreal clarinettist played the slow movement of the Mozart clarinet concerto with the orchestra part arranged for string quartet. It was so beautiful I wanted to weep. Then Hubby played a couple of jazz tunes on classical guitar, and was subsequently joined by the clarinettist and a drummer on congas for several more jazz favourites. They finished up the concert with three klezmer tunes to which the audience members clapped, and some children even got up and started dancing. It was very informal, a lot of fun, and the music was fine.

I have decided not to think about my computer problems and just work ahead on recopying the score. If need be, we can print it out from Hubby�s computer in his office on the laser printer there. But I seem to find major distractions to getting my work done in the form of this fun computer and the world it opens up to me. If only I were better organized and more motivated. But I�m not.

My good friend j-leem, whom I visited in Trinidad and Tobago last March break, has decided that she is going to leave DiaryIand and cease frollicking online. Anyone on her Yah00 messenger list who is not someone she knows in the flesh has been erased. I am so relieved that we made physical contact before this, for I could not bear losing her as a friend.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>