Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Bandit

Friday, Jun. 29, 2007
7:33 a.m.
The day has dawned sunny and cool (my widget says it’s 7°C right now and predicts thunder storms) and I can hear chickadees and the occasional white-throated sparrow through the upstairs window. I can also hear hammering from construction on the new houses going up down the street--that part of the street I don’t really acknowledge because the woods I loved so much are gone--but it’s still pretty quiet.

I had my alarm set for 7:45 but woke just before the clock struck at 7:00. I have to drive Buddy Boy to Sh’brooke this morning where he is going to be a camp counselor for three weeks at something called “Vivre en anglais”, a camp for francophones who want (or whose parents want them) to learn English. He’s anticipating it being a blast, accompanying them to water parks, amusement parks and other such fun activities. But yesterday was spent being certified as a first aid administrator, so it’s got a serious side too.

Hubby told me to get my camera yesterday as one of our woodland neighbours had emerged to take advantage of the droppings from the bird feeder. I got two pictures of him, one from the kitchen window, and the second from the deck itself. He was visibly nervous when I was outside, humping his back and bristling. Still, he’s kind of cute, don’t you think:

DSC01203

DSC01204



|

<~~~ * ~~~>