Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Better than the rhythm method.

Friday, Sept. 28, 2007
11:02 p.m.
Friday usually marks the end of a work week. Today is the beginning of a weekend of madness. I taught my other three new students today. One is a 19-year-old drama student from some tiny town in B.C. who has incredible self-assurance, which makes me think he’ll be a problem when I start trying to make him sing differently. One is a German exchange student with a really pretty voice who is going to be a joy to teach, and the other is my only actual music student, also a drama major, who is a paraplegic, although she assured me that it would be no problem for me to teach her in the basement. She has serious vocal tension problems. Well, I definitely will earn my measly salary this year.

Hubby and I went to the first in-house concert of the season tonight and ended up leaving at intermission. A Russian pianist played Bach and Busoni, and we both leaned over and whispered to each other, “Let’s go home and watch TPB.” So at intermission, after the Beethoven Moonlight Sonata, we did, three episodes. We’re halfway through season five.

I did, however, hear the best viola joke yet before the concert began: What do viola players use for contraception? Their personalities.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>