Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Do I look sick to you?

Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2005
12:04 p.m.
For your information zitagsd, I did not go to Latin class this morning, instead I stayed home, dosed myself with more cold medicine and slept. I feel incredibly guilty. I just know that I�ll fall behind and be horribly lost come next class. However, I felt so incredibly worse when I got up than when I went to bed that there was no question.

bindyree put forth the query: Did your parents ever lie to you? As a matter of fact, I can�t recall my father ever telling me a mistruth, but I do remember the one time my mother lied to me and I caught her on it years later. I was having trouble with math in elementary school, and confessed that I hated it. When I asked her what her favourite subject had been in school, she answered, a little late actually, with a completely stony face, that it had been math, which should have been the signal (alarm bells!) that she was lying to me. In fact, it was one of her worst subjects and she only passed algebra because a fellow classmate tutored her before the exam. When I asked her years later why she had lied to me, she confessed she thought it would encourage me to try to do better. Fat chance!

As far as I am aware, I have never lied to my kids. I�ve mislead, in the case of what I had got them for Christmas or birthday presents, but tried not to tell an out-and-out mistruth. But of course we find ourselves lying all the time, little white lies, especially in answer to that age-old whopper of a question: Does this dress make me look fat?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>