Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s enough to make your hair curl!

Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004
11:43 p.m.
As you can see from the date stamp, it is just a quarter hour shy of midnight, and I have just recently arrived home from watching Canada�s (and Norway�s) greatest sport. Not hockey, but yes, it is played on ice. That�s right, folks, I spent two hours at L�vill�es curling club because Little Princess had a game tonight with the boys she hangs out with and she asked me to go. It was right after belly dancing, and it was on my way home, right after I dropped off Patsy and picked up a bag of milk and a bunch of bananas, so I did. They were late getting started, and then the game itself took about one and three-quarters hours. It was unspectacular. Quite unspectacular. If I hadn�t had another of their friends to sit with, I would have been nearly bored to tears.

When they were done, at about 11:25, I told Little Princess that I would take her home. However, tradition has it that the winning team members buy the losing team members a beer and she wanted her beer. I just wanted to go home. I explained to her as nicely as I could, considering that her four friends were watching, that I had been there for two hours and I was going home, with or without her. She decided to stay and take a cab home. Needless to say, I am somewhat pissed off.

At her request I came to the curling club and sat for two hours watching a game I am only marginally interested in. My whole purpose was so that I could take her home afterwards. She does have an early class tomorrow after all. All she wanted to do was hang out with her friends. So, I have decided that curling is not my thing, and I simply won�t go anymore. There is something called gratitude, and I am tired of being Mom: Doormat.

On another note, though, belly dancing was a real workout tonight. Lise was not there and the woman who took the class was excellent. She is tall, thin, with a real dancer�s body, graceful and very clear in her moves. I wouldn�t mind having her again as an instructor.

Oh, and while we�re on the subject of curling, may I recommend an excellent movie, the quintessential Canadian sports movie, Men with Bro0ms, starring Leslie Niels0n and Paul Gr0ss. It�s available on VHS and DVD, rent it today!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>