Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Under a darkling moon.

Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2004
11:07 p.m.
I came home from writing group tonight under the baleful eye of a red moon. The eclipse began at 9:15 and I remembered to look out the window at 9:30 to see the Earth�s shadow nibbling away at the lower left edge. During the summer of 1981 I watched a lunar eclipse from Riverside Park in L0nd0n, Ontari0 when my honey and I were dating. It was summer, I was in love, and a blanket on the grass was exactly the right place to be under a darkling moon. Tonight it is clear and cold. I would rather glance out the window every so often than stare at the sky from my front yard.

My fantasy of a Wednesday with all my students present and accounted for was finally realized today. Even my private student came for her lesson, which made my day quite long, but which was rewarding in so many ways. For three years I worked with this girl and for three years minimal progress was made. Well, that�s not really true. She did progress to the point where she performed a half-recital for her final jury, something she could never have accomplished when she arrived here. But so many of her basic underlying vocal problems were never solved, and now that she doesn�t have the pressure of regular classes and juries looming we are able to address those needs. It�s a joy for me as a teacher to see that real change and progress is being effected. I only wish that she had responded differently when she was actually taking the course for credit. But some people are late bloomers. I should know. I was one myself.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>