Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Suave persuasian swayed me to suede.

Sunday, May 28, 2006
7:09 p.m.
All right, I did it. I bought the dress. From now on, I�m taking hissandtell and zitagsd with me when I go shopping because they will always encourage me to do the right thing, right girls?

Hubby wanted to go to the mall to buy himself some tennis shoes and shorts, so I said that I would come with him and model the dress and he would tell me yea or nay. By this time I had pretty much already decided to get it, especially after receiving such warm, enthusiastic endorsements from the two above-named diarists. Little Princess begged to come along too: she wanted to get another ear piercing. More on that later.

So, we headed out to the mall, Sunday afternoon being a little less insane than Saturday afternoon, and while Hubby shopped for shoes at one store, Little Princess and I shopped for a skirt and summer dress for her at Sirens. You see, she had bought a skirt there which was starting to fall apart and I had offered to fix it. In the process of �fixing� it, I totally ruined it. It was a combination of my carelessness and their cheap material. So I paid for the new skirt and she paid for the dress which I have to alter slightly, but I promise I�ll be careful this time. I promise!

We caught up with Hubby in HMV, where he was browsing the jazz and blues sections (what else, I ask?) and finally managed to drag him out of there so I could model the dress in question for him. He liked it. He wasn�t as enthusiastic as I would have hoped, but then he�s a guy, for crying out loud! I bought it anyway. So there. Humph!

After this, he went off to the other sporting goods store to buy tennis shorts and I accompanied Little Princess to the accessories boutique where she got two studs embedded in the cartilagenous part of her right ear. Inside the store she asked me which side she should do, after picking out which studs she wanted, and I said, �Sorry, I have to go. I�ll be outside,� and I promptly left and sat on a bench until she emerged, the damage done, two crystals sparkling among the redness of her freshly mutilated flesh, and I wanted to cry. Why was I able to watch the plastic surgeon slice into her leg and scoop out diseased tissue, the cavity welling over with fresh blood, but I can�t bear the thought of her getting needles through her ears? What is wrong with me? I won�t even get my own ears pierced.

Anyway, the rest of the trip was rather anticlimactic. We bought a composter at the mega-hardware store (it�s like a city in there, a handyman�s delight) and Hubby became totally enamored of the tool section as he tried to decide which Robertson�s screwdriver to buy (that�s a uniquely Canadian screwdriver, by the way, with a square head), dropped off the trunkful of empty beer bottles we had been carrying around for days at the supermarket and picked up a few necessities before heading home.

I did not mention that last night I persuaded Hubby (he really would have rather watched the hockey game, especially as the Oilers won) to go see X-Men III with me. Little Princess was going with a bunch of her friends and I was inspired. The movie was great. I�ve heard that the detractors are upset that it did not follow the comic book stories verbatim and that certain main characters got killed off, but I never really read X-Men (I was more into Superman myself) so I didn�t mind the storyline discrepancies. I thought it was very well done for a comic-book genre movie.

Afterwards we offered a ride home to one of the young folks who had ridden his bike from his place of employment. It wasn�t until we got to our car that we remembered the trunk full of beer bottles, but we somehow managed to get his bike in there with the empties, and delivered him and it safely to his house.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>