Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Don�t persuade me to be swayed by suede.

Saturday, May 27, 2006
7:44 p.m.
The weather has taken a turn for the better. We were able to eat our supper on the back deck, only forced indoors when the mosquitoes discovered our presence.

Little Princess and I braved the Saturday afternoon mall crowd so I could pick up a bra ordered several weeks ago. We were drawn into a gift store that was advertising all its sushi sets at incredible savings (even though I don�t think they were worth the prices marked before discount) which meant that I bought a set for two (bamboo tray, bamboo placemates, serving dish, individual dishes, rice bowls, partitioned sauce dishes, chopsticks, chopstick rests) priced at $170.00 for $32.00. Little Princess bought herself a set for two (serving plates, sauce dishes, chopsticks) originally priced at $60.00 for $12.00. Not a bad deal, if I say so myself. When we got home we looked up recipes for sushi and now have a shopping list made up for our future norimaki fest.

At the lingerie store I bought my bra and Little Princess bought a bra--just like Mommy! Then I treated her to an iced mocha (I had a skim-milk latte) before hitting the candy store where she got herself some jelly bellies (just like Bernie B0tt�s all-flavour beans) and I drooled over the fudge but didn�t buy any.

At one point we stopped in the leather store where I tried on a black suede dress priced rather affordably which, with a few alterations, would actually look fantastic on me, but I desisted from buying it, saying, �I really don�t need another black dress.� Now I�m hankering after it. Darn. I hate that.

Buddy Boy went out with his friends while we were away, telling Hubby that they were going into town to shoot some more of their movie and, as of this writing, he is not yet back, which gives me some concern. I mean, I don�t feel I should have to monitor his every movement, especially since he is 17, but it would be rather considerate if he were to call to let me know whether he would be wanting supper or not and when we can expect him home. The double-edged blessing of children, exemplified.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>