Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Oh happy days!

Saturday, Jan. 28, 2006
6:47 p.m.
I got wonderful news today, but you�ll have to wait for it. First I must bore you to tears with my day. Mua ha ha ha ha!

The NYTimes crossword turned out to be really, really hard and remains mostly unfinished. I will pick at it, like eggsaucted�s Highness is picking at her scabs, but hopefully I will have better results. Little Princess reminded me that I had promised to take her to the mall, so after a delightful bath (I love baths, have I mentioned this before?) we hopped into the Volvo (which is actually working like a charm these days, whatever Raymond did to it [he replaced the gizmo that regulates the aeration of the gas] was just what the old car needed) since Hubby had taken the Subaru earlier to play indoor tennis (the man is a serious addict, I swear) and headed off to the carrefour where we bought lots and lots of stockings at tcklyrpharsn�s favourite store (Simons has the best stockings, bar none). We couldn�t believe the sales. Little Princess also bought a cute skirt (marked down to $10) at Sirens across the way, and I tried on a dress at the store nextdoor to it, which roughly translates as �The Castle� but didn�t get it because, well, it made me look like a cheap whore.

Then we went into Sears and I bought a stainless steel eggbeater, you know, the old fashioned kind that has the rotary blades that you crank by hand. We also bumped into our neighbours and some people I had met but didn�t remember (it�s amazing whom you meet when you go out shopping as far from your house as you can get and still be in the city), and then we went home because we were very, very hungry.

So, now you want to know my happy news. I went online and lo! j-leem had left me a message on Yah00! and lo! she was online and we finally connected after what seems like months of her not having a working computer (it�s working now). She told me that she and dark-knight got married (she said it wasn�t a secret, which is why I�m telling everyone) a week ago yesterday in a civil ceremony to keep the U.S. immigration department happy, but they have planned their official wedding and party for a year and-a-half hence, and she has asked me, yes me, to be her matron of honour! I am so delighted.

Symphony tonight. I have no idea what we�re going to be hearing. I hope I don�t fall asleep.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>