Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Birthday, Wolfie!

Friday, Jan. 27, 2006
11:17 p.m.
Yes, yes, I know, this is my second update today, so who�s counting? I went to a recital tonight, a recital I could very well have missed, by a graduate of ours, a guitarist who came here specificially to study guitar with my husband who is supposed to be a really good classical guitarist himself, but who learned zilch from him because he is so arrogant and full of himself, which makes me wonder why he bothered to study with him in the first place. First, he plays everything really, really fast. Second, he plays lots of wrong notes and very few right rhythms. Third, he has all sorts of affected antics on stage, like staring heavenwards and ending with a flourish. What this adds up to is a lot of schlock tricks which impress people who are easily impressed by these things, and to the rest of us, those who actually know how these pieces are supposed to go and have some appreciation of real musical talent and the hard work that one needs to put into their preparation, he is a charlatan.

So, not only is he a charlatan and gave a rather horrible recital which everyone loved, but now he and his friends are in my house because Hubby couldn�t say �no� to having a party after the reception in the lobby following the concert itself. It is, as you can see from the date stamp, late. I have a cold and I want to go to bed, but it will be hours before I am able to sleep unless I resort to drugs and ear plugs. Oh, did I mention that they are Mexican? Already I can hear Spanish wafting upstairs (I have nothing against Mexicans, really, but we�ve had parties here before where the majority of guests were of that nationality, and they really liked to party) and I know I�m in for a long night.

So, just to recap the rest of the day, I coached my former student on Yesterday by the BeatIes for her audition Sunday, and after she got warmed up vocally, she did a rather nice job. I wish she were still studying with me, we really have a good rapport and I think she�s matured enough that she might actually be able to start learning something. Oh well. Then I met Hubby who had just received his new G4 Powerbook from the university (it�s not his, but it�s his to use) and he was setting up the equipment to show the video I took at the dress rehearsal for his piece that was premiered by the TSO last November.

We went for lunch and met our daughter in the eatery totally by accident, and enjoyed each other�s company until it was time for the composers� seminar he gives every Friday afternoon, so we all headed back to the music department and Little Princess and I both sat in as well. He played the recording the CBC had made of the piece and then the video, so the students got to hear it twice and to see the orchestra and conductor at work. I think they really liked it.

This was followed by a trip to Costco where I spent a lot of money and came away with black cherries and tamari almonds (among other things). I was so tired that I planned to have a nap, but ended up chatting online with some friends until it was time to make supper. Now I�m totally exhausted. I asked Hubby if he would please kick everyone out at a decent hour. �Tain�t gonna happen.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>