Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sing Misty for me.

Saturday, Sept. 27, 2008
7:46 a.m.
I didn’t get sick, not last night nor this morning. Of course, that doesn’t mean that a bout of snot-filled illness is not in my future, but at the moment I am blessedly unscathed.

For concert garb last night, I decided to go with the black satin cocktail dress, the one that shows off all my curves, as the purple silk samcheong showed them off a little too well. Just a pound or two, and that dress is unwearable. But anyway, I looked very sexy (which is interesting, considering my menopausal state) and I sang pretty well too. Just before the show our drummer phoned to say he couldn’t come (which sucked) so Hubby was unable to do the guitar-vibraphone duet they had prepared for the occasion. But the bass player from the U de S worked out very well, a talented young fellow of limited English, and he did a very nice solo in All of Me and gave great support in the other two pieces (Misty and All or Nothing At All). My spot was right at the end of the concert, which was excessively long, and everyone who talked to me afterwards enjoyed it. It was kind of fun having one of my new students just stand there with stars in her eyes. Sweet.

But you want to know about the rest of the show, undoubtedly. I only got to see the first half, and then not all of it. My arch-nemesis, the assistant conductor of the choir, opened it with her husband (my other arch-nemesis) on piano and a friend on clarinet. I have said many damning things about this woman in the past, mostly because I am still angry with her for crimes and misdemeanors perpetrated seven years ago when she first arrived at our fair academic shores, and I will say rather uncomplimentary things about her now, but I want to temper them by saying that she was blessed at birth with an incredibly beautiful singing voice. Her tuning and sense of pitch are impeccable. But I listen to her and my mind goes into singing-teacher mode and I start hearing all her inadequacies and improper technique. Last night I remarked on the airiness in her sound, the tension in her jaw and her perpetual lack of projection. She was totally covered by the clarinet (which is also that player’s fault for being too loud) at times. But I can tell from the expressions on the faces of people in the audience that she was almost universally adored.

After Hubby and I came home, we relaxed with single malt scotch, popcorn, and a deck of cards, except at one point I totally pooped out (I think it was 1:30 a.m.) and we put down the game with him ahead and went to bed. I got up to write this entry about a half hour ago, and he just got up now and beckoned me to come to breakfast, so I guess I’m done here.

Oh, when we get the recording from the concert, if I like them, I’ll upload and post my three tunes. Okay?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>