Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Mustn’t get sick....

Thursday, Sept. 25, 2008
10:08 p.m.
Well, without any discussion or looking into alternatives, my mother has been moved to the second floor. I haven’t spoken to her since last Sunday when she actually sounded pretty good. But Little Princess and Buddy Boy had dinner with her that evening and she was extremely confused, constantly having to be reminded of their relationship to her. My friend Ed told Little Princess that dementia tends to be worse at night, so she’s thinking maybe she should visit her grandmother earlier in the day. But with all of our busy lives, it’s hard, dammit!

I started teaching this week. I’m exhausted. Plus, I’m singing in the faculty recital tomorrow night and have a fear of getting sick. Illness has been raging in the university residences (half of my students are getting over colds) and Hubby is recovering from a bad cold. I swear by echinacea, and today I dosed myself with some single-malt scotch as well.

I have nine students, five returnees. My baritone said such wonderful things about me yesterday that I was overwhelmed. He worked in a musical-theatre company during the summer, taking three different roles, and he credits me with his success. His director and everyone who knew him complimented him on how good his voice sounds, and he was able to sing in three different tessituras (bass, baritone and tenor) without vocal strain. I would love for him to put all that in writing and send it to those people on the committee who wouldn’t grant me my seniority point because one student gave me a bad review. That would be a smack in their faces.

But all that teaching, plus Spanish class, plus choir, make for very long days. So, having said that, I shall head off to my pillow now and hopefully not get sick; at least, not until after tomorrow.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>