Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Chocolate and oranges�mmm�

Monday, Mar. 27, 2006
5:25 p.m.
The cough which I had hoped would be gone by today is worse and I ended up taking the day off, sleeping as much as I could. I awoke much too early this morning with another killer headache, got my son�s lunch made and some painkillers swallowed, then toddled off to my crib again, waking up once for lunch, and then just now, presumably for supper, although I don�t know who�s cooking.

I�ve been thinking about something Hubby said this morning regarding the clarinettist in the ensemble that was just visiting us. He�s gay and didn�t divulge whether or not he presently has a boyfriend, but it is obvious from the interraction between himself and the married couple and their son that they are all one giant family of a sort. The little boy even calls him Uncle N. I can tell when they are on stage or just in a group at the dinner table that they really are a family, that the other hetero couple has made room for him in their lives. The pianist was talking about how she always goes shopping for clothes now with Uncle N. because he has unerring fashion sense and her best wardrobe items were chosen by him. As a matter of fact, he complimented me rather lavishly on the shoes I was wearing Friday night, which made me feel special, round-toed stilletto pumps that I bought at ZeIIers for a mere $35.00.

I�ve finished my hot chocolate spiked with orange ligueur and I think I�ll be heading back to bed now. Hopefully when we meet again I will be in better health.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>