Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Guns and hairdryers.

Sunday, Mar. 26, 2006
7:20 p.m.
My guests have gone. Even though I am overjoyed to get my house back, I am still sad that they have departed. We had so much fun together. Last night after we got home from the student recital (and they from their practising), we partied down in the kitchen. I tried to drown my cough in dark Cuban rum, and was actually successful. We ate cheese and crackers and drank baco noir from Henry of PeIham and talked until midnight. Especially interesting was our discussion of children, and the clarinettist telling us about his own youth. He was given guns to play with as a child and managed to turn them into hair dryers. He waited until after his father died before he told his mother he was gay as the former had been devastated by his brother�s coming out and admitted that if his second son was like that, he would just shoot himself now. He also said that he really enjoyed being a guy and didn�t understand drag queens at all, and I compared it to how when I first became a vegetarian I wouldn�t use soy products that immitated meat because, if I wasn�t eating meat, why would I eat something that resembled it? While it wasn�t perhaps a very good analogy, he understood and agreed with it.

I awoke several times in the night with a terrific headache which I could attribute to the rum and wine or to just being sick. After taking extra-strength pain reliever at about 5:00 a.m. I was able to sleep for another three hours. Our guests and Hubby headed off to school for a dress rehearsal for this afternoon�s concert, and returned for lunch and to pack up their belongings. The concert itself was quite amazing. Several students played pieces they had been coached on during the week, and the artists-in-residence premiered six student compositions, all different, all quite remarkable. My favourite was actually composed by one of my singing students.

We all hugged goodbye afterwards, then Buddy Boy and I came home, I had a hot beverage and went to bed where I remained until a short while ago when Hubby woke me to come and have some supper. I have Latin verb synopses to fill out, due tomorrow, so I guess I�d better do that.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>