Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Boxing Day 2005

Monday, Dec. 26, 2005
5:34 p.m.
I have definitely been overindulging and there will be a piper to pay very soon, but until then, I will continue pigging out on gingerbread men, shortbread cookies and chocolate truffles. My pants still fit, although I don�t know for how much longer.

In an attempt to get some blood circulating, Buddy Boy and I walked into town, ostensibly to go to the used book store to pick him up some reading material (can you believe it, the poor guy didn�t get a single book yesterday!) but it was closed up tight, so we instead spent a pleasant half-hour at the Java refreshing ourselves (Italian soda for him, latte for me) and playing a couple of games of backgammon (I lost both of them) before he continued on to his friend Gabby�s and I turned around and walked home. The temperature was above freezing, but there was a chill in the air, and I was glad to get home to the warmth of the fire.

The grandfather clock really needs to be wound more frequently than once a day, and I forgot to attend to it this morning so it stopped just at 10 o�clock. I wound and reset the hands, but at 1 p.m. we heard it chime 12 times, which means it had never actually announced the hour when it stopped. So I spent a frantic flurry trying to coordinate the hands and the bells, finally getting it to match up at 4 o�clock. I promptly stilled the pendulum and went about my business (which means the previous paragraph), and started it up again when I got home. We�re back on track, folks.

I also called j-leem on the telephone to wish her happy holidays and we spent a good hour chatting and laughing. Now I will take some acetaminophen (too much chocolate and shortbread is not good for the head) and see about making supper.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>