Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Chanukah everyone!

Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
6:06 p.m.
Well, I guess this is officially my 1,001st entry. If you missed the millenium, just click back for it. The day started with being woken by the grandfather clock of course. Actually, I slept through seven bells, for a change, but was up at eight, which was fine because it was time to go downstairs and rip and tear. Santa had come and gone, leaving a pile of presents under the Brumalia shrubbery, which we made short work of. Hubby gave me a lovely angora sweater of a green so light it�s almost white, Little Princess got me an icecream scoop (that was my idea) and Buddy Boy presented me with a marble lazy suzan (I had suggested a melon baller to him, but he couldn�t find one). We used it at dinner tonight. My sister- and brother-in-law gave me some of my favourite liquid soap and hand cream and my mother- and father-in-law gave me two long-sleeved tee-shirts, black with embroidery and off-white.

The kids did all right as well, CDs, DVDs, books, clothing. I realized that my son is now a man, since Grandma gave him a couple of golf shirts. That�s it, I guess, a rite of passage. Hubby was happy with his gifts too. The funniest one was his favourite guitar pick which had somehow gotten lost, probably lodged between the cushions of the couch, which Buddy Boy found and put into a little jewellery box and tucked into his dad�s stocking.

At five minutes to noon, the power cut out for just over an hour. I couldn�t believe it. Of all days to lose electricity with all those turkeys in ovens across town. Luckily it didn�t last long, but I�m sure there was much panic in the neighbourhood.

We ended up having two guests for supper, Little Princess� BF and the student I mentioned before. I made potato latkes, which were fantastic, barbecued trout, saut�ed broccoli and carrots, and we pigged out on Nanaimo bars for dessert. The boys are jamming in the livingroom as we speak, a fitting end to Christmas and beginning to Chanukah.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>