Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

White shit.

Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005
11:08 p.m.
Oobleck. That�s got to be what�s coming out of the sky because I�m sure as hell in denial about it being snow. It started around 4 p.m., and it�s still happening. First it was rain, then it was slush, now it�s snow. Grrrr!

Tuesdays are always my heaviest days, today being no exception. My first student of the day is a very strange girl. I think I must have written about her before. She�s �different�, shall we say. Anyway, at one point I rose from the chair in front of the piano and my knee gave me a sharp pain. This happened several times and it was so intense that I yelped, exclaiming, �Ouch! My knee hurts!� which prompted this student to blurt out, �Oh dear! I hope my singing isn�t making your knee hurt!� WTF? Anyway, I like to think she�s making progress, but I haven�t seen much evidence yet.

On the other hand, I have a student in the afternoon who has a gorgeous voice and is a natural. The stuff I�m doing with her, and she�s just a beginner, is what I would do with more advanced students, real nit-pickie stuff. It�s amazing. She�s just going to gobble up repertoire. A real joy.

Choir was interesting. The interim conductor asked me to sing soprano II in a particular piece we�re doing, where the second soprano line is often quite dissonant with the first, and wasn�t being heard properly. She asked the firsts to sing something alone, and the bottom just dropped out of the sound as soon as they realized that Elgan wasn�t singing with them. They recovered, much to their credit, but it makes me realize how dependent these young choir members become on me.

At writing group tonight it was just Janice, Patsy and myself. The weather must have kept everyone else away. We had lots of ginger cookies to ourselves.

I fear we are about to lose our power, as there are continual brownouts going on, so I�ll wrap this up. Nighty night!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>