Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Stupid, stupid, stupid.

Monday, Oct. 24, 2005
8:01 p.m.
Last night my darling husband got the brilliant idea that we would call my brother up and sing him Happy Birthday in harmony over the telephone, so we did that. Then they had a lively conversation about blues, wherein Hubby told him about the concert we are giving. My brother is a blues man from way back, so he was duly interested. But then my wonderful husband said, �I�m handing the phone over to your sister because she wants to say hello.� The following is the subsequent conversation between me and my sibling:

Me: Happy Birthday!
Him: Thank you.
Me: I had a long chat with Mummy today. She said you had a nice visit.
Him: That�s nice.
Me: Well, I was just checking in. Bye now.

I don�t recall if he actually said goodbye or not. It has gotten so that I don�t care anymore if my brother and I ever have a relationship again. I knew this would be the result of any effort on my husband�s part to try to heal rifts, i.e. nothing. My brother cannot let bygones be bygones, nor can he forgive and forget, nor let any other of the those wonderful clich�s that so easily roll off the tongue influence his feelings. Apart from me grovelling on my hands and knees, begging forgiveness for past sins, both real and imagined, including the one which caused the estrangement in the first place, there will be no reconcilliation. And you know what? At this point I don�t really care.

In other news, I sat with my daughter while she waited to see the nurse this morning before my Latin class. She and her friends were very, very stupid over the weekend, much stupider than I ever was when I was her age. They had a drinking party, wherein they watched a James B0nd film, Diam0nds are F0rever, and every time 007 made a sexual inuendo (which must have been every five minutes) they were required to have a shot of strong liquor. She, and everyone else, got stinking drunk. At one point my fellow Latin student (who is thin as a rail and, although taller than Little Princess, actually weighs less) carried her on his back, and fell, nearly causing himself a serious spinal injury and skinning his knees. My incredibly brilliant daughter fell on top of him, but was so blitzed out of her mind that she didn�t feel anything until later, when they were at someone else�s house (and she was actually vomiting on his floor) and she complained that her knee hurt.

Upon closer inspection, it was discovered that she had received a very nasty abrasion, so nasty that it looked like a whole chunk of skin had been ripped out of her leg. Weirdly, her pants weren�t all bloody, which must have been an affect of all the alcohol in her system. She ended up sleeping at her friend�s that night (and here Hubby was waking up every hour looking at the clock because she wasn�t home yet), and when she got home the next morning her brother tried to bandage her up with cotton pads (since we�re out of gauze) and antibiotic ointment. In the evening I took a look at the damage. It�s really not a pretty sight. She actually took a picture and posted it in her blog. It�s not for the weak of stomach.

I washed it well using a new bar of soap, disinfected it with Dettol and applied an olive oil and beeswax based comfrey salve. This morning the nurse looked at it and said �Ick� and bandaged it up. She will have a nasty scar, I�m sure.

In other news, we learned about gerunds in Latin. I was very sleepy, since I stayed up late reading, and had a really hard time understanding what was being taught. I will have to review on my own. I taught my two young men (my recital student is learning Largo al factotum from Rossini�s Barber of Seville) and went to belly dancing. Now I am going to install the new Finale� on this computer and enter a new age in music copying.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>