Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

All of me, why not take all of me?

Friday, Nov. 26, 2004
12:44 a.m.
Once more I am writing after being in yet another smoky bar environment, this time to see one of the founding members of a very famous Canadian band, known the world over as The Unclad Women, or something like that. This particular founding member, who is no longer with the band (and happens to live in our amalgamated city), was joined by a buddy of his and they performed two sets of mostly original material, the first being the buddy�s and the second of the original founding member of said famous band. They were really good. Unfortunately, it was a smoky bar environment, and after a while I just held my scarf up over my nose because I couldn�t stand it anymore. Also, between the two of us, Hubby and I had approximately $25, $10 of which we paid for the cover charge, leaving only $15 for drinks, which were approximately $4 apiece. Between the two of us we consumed one mineral water, one Mexican beer (with a wedge of lime, of course) and one cranberry juice/mineral water combination. But I did enjoy myself, notwithstanding all the other discomforts.

I have decided not to go to the recital tomorrow night, even though I should go, it being a voice recital, and especially because the recitalist was a student of mine for four years. But another student of mine is performing at Java tomorrow night (on bass mind you, not vocals) and I feel like going to that instead.

You see, for four years I taught this girl, for four years she called me �Mommy Two�, her parents befriending us and giving us presents for looking after their little girl--when she lost her wallet I went with her to the bank to vouch for her so she could open a local account--and for all this she betrayed me by working with another teacher behind my back during her last year, which resulted in all sorts of technical difficulties, the source of which I could not at the time identify, and made up stories about �a breakdown in communication� to justify her transgression even though I was unaware of any such breakdown; and since she has been on campus for the past two weeks I have only seen her in the office or when she arrived during cabaret, and yet she has made absolutely no attempt to call me to �do lunch� or any of the things one would hope a former student would do; therefore, I do not see any reason why I should attend this recital which was just recently tacked onto the concert series, especially when her accompanist is also a sworn enemy of mine, even though I am mildly curious to see how she has progressed under the tutelage of another teacher (she�s been studying in Paris of late), but the concert is being recorded and I can always assuage my curiosity later by listening to the CD. How was that for one long sentence?

We got the Latin test back and I lost a half-mark for mistaking the ablative for the accusative (how could I have done that?), but otherwise had a perfect paper. I taught two great lessons today and was brilliant during choir rehearsal, flubbed my way through belly dancing and then subjected myself to smoke and mirrors at the venue of the above-noted concert. And, since it is now approximately quarter past one (I�ve had lots of interruptions typing this), I am going to bed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>