Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

In honour of Robbie Burns

Friday, Jan. 25, 2008
11:54 p.m.
In honour of Bobby Burns, Janice hosted an evening of readings by the members of our writing group. I started off with two Arthur McGruder tales, one of which I wrote in the group and one which was a more recent invention. It was a fun evening. Marjorie made this amazing whiskey fudge, Janice provided a hot grog and her amazing ginger-oatmeal shortbreads, and I supplied a bottle of Glen Fiddich. I myself partook especially of the latter.

This was followed by my daughter’s band at the Lion, in a fundraiser for Darfur, and we left after their first set. They were pretty good, but we’d had enough.

Earlier in the day I met with the recorder ensemble to run through our piece before playing it for the ensemble class, then I taught two lessons with a quick lunch grabbed in between, rehearsed with the flutist, then we rehearsed with Ms. Piano, and then Hubby and I went out to the CAA on King Ouest to get new passport pictures taken so we can renew our passports. It has been an amazingly busy day.

Just now, though, I used a magnifying glass and a sterilized needle to dig out a bit of glass or metal or something from Hubby’s right index finger. He screamed like a little kid. Oy. But I got it out.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>