Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sun, sun, glorious sun!

Saturday, Apr. 25, 2009
1:29 p.m.
It is finally spring, or at least finally T-shirt and shorts weather. The students have been dressing down for a while now, even when it wasn’t quite warm enough, but I am supposed to have more sense than that; and besides, I get cold.

Yesterday evening Hubby and I went to the Lion for supper and a pint and sat on the terrace enjoying the westering sun. Apart from the transport trucks laden with huge logs that seemed to be constantly turning the corner with great noise, or the paucity of available seating (a tribute to the beauty of the weather), it was quite lovely. He had a veggie wrap and I had the traditional fish and chips, washed down with the pub’s very own amber ale.

We sat next to a couple of men, one of whom used to be married to Janice, the leader of my writing group, and whose last name I have forgotten, unfortunately. He had just been laid off yesterday from his machine shop job, but didn’t seem too concerned, looking at the extra time he will have as an opportunity to sail.

After supper we drove (I drove; Hubby had had all but one glass from the pitcher of beer we ordered on top of the generous splash of rum he’d dosed himself with before going out) to the mall to pick up a cable he’d ordered from the music store, and to buy himself a pair of black dress shoes. I got myself a pair of sandals as well, which I am wearing right now, in fact, and from which I am starting to get a wee blister on my left foot.

We stopped at the international food store on the way home for hot sauces and olives, then at the video store for a rather silly movie, and home to watch it.

Today it is incredibly glorious out. After sitting at the computer all morning, I donned shorts and a tank top, sunscreened my nose and cheeks, put on a hat, found a spare pair of sunglasses (my good ones are in the car which Hubby ran off with somewere), and headed into town in my new sandals with only my keys and bank card in my pockets.

Tonight Herr Doktor Professor’s wife is making him a party for his 50th birthday, so I bought a nice bottle of hooch at the liquor store, oral hygiene products at the pharmacy, a can of unsweetened, carbonated fruit drink at the health-food store, and stopped at the music department thinking I would practise here.

Alas, the place is being overrun by small children and their parents as some kind of music festival/competition is underway. My only refuge is my office where I decided to update my diary instead of playing spider solitaire, although I might do that, too.

I noticed as I was sitting on a bench drinking my unsweetened drink that I had forgotten to shave my legs, but since the completion of menopause, my body hair in general is slackening to the point where I hadn’t noticed it previously. Still, I don’t think I could get away without shaving completely yet.

But, on my way into town, I did receive the modern-day equivalent of a wolf whistle from a young man in a pickup truck as he passed me from behind. I don’t know if I should be flattered that I’m still attractive enough to garner these tributes, or if I should be incensed because men are pigs. What a dilemma!


|

<~~~ * ~~~>