Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Birthdays

Friday, Apr. 24, 2009
3:17 p.m.
If my father were still alive, he would be 96 today. Weird to think about that. But he’s not. My son, on the other hand, is celebrating his 20th birthday on this date, and I am not there to cheer him on. I’m sure his planned drunken debauchery will proceed better without me than with me. It is also the Duchess’ birthday. I will give her a call shortly to wish her happiness and good health.

I found out today from one of my students that she is expecting a baby in October. This is her second. She had her first when she was 19 and she is now 28. I suspected pregnancy a couple of weeks ago as I observed her mid-section, but she confirmed it today. This means she won’t be returning to school in the fall. I am saddened. I like this student.

My marks are all in. It was very difficult writing up some of the comments, as you can imagine. The one girl who is going off to France in the fall on exchange but who wants to continue studying with me when she comes back I tried to discourage. She worked very little this year and has very few results to show for the time and money spent. I didn’t come right out and tell her she was terrible and has no talent, which is the truth, but I did say that she might reconsider continuing lessons if she is not willing to put the effort into them that they deserve. I said something similar to another girl who really does have talent for whom this and next year’s are required courses. For the one who has finished her music minor requirement, I said nothing discouraging at all, merely complimented her on the improvement of her German and that was about it. If she wants to continue lessons with me, I will consider suicide to get out of it.

All the rest were easier to write up. But I have counted on my fingers and out of the nine students I had this past term, only four are likely to return in the fall. I have no idea if there are incoming students and how many I will get, if they will be music majors/minors, or rank beginners for whom I am overpaid to teach.

I have two lessons left to teach and my taxes to do. I think April is almost over.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>