Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Hump day

Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
10:30 p.m.
Wintertime nighs and the mercury is starting to drop in earnest. This is the price we pay for living in the true north, strong and free. We don’t have poisonous snakes (well, one), poisonous spiders (again, just one), foot-long cockroaches, tropical diseases, intestinal parasites, and any other myriad things that you only get in warm climates, but we do have winters that suck the very soul out of you. Somehow we still manage to survive.

Wednesday is my big teaching day and I always come away hungry and exhausted. Everyone seems to be making progress, even though most of them are either coming down with, in the throes of, or recovering from some kind of illness. There was a blood drive on campus today. I don’t know how they could get any donors, considering how much sickness has been going around.

Tomorrow I have an oral exam in Spanish. It lasts 10 minutes and is worth 10% of my final grade. I am woefully under prepared and have absolutely no motivation to study at the moment. Oh well. Maybe I just need a good night’s sleep.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>