Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Nocturnal ramblings

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004
3:28 a.m.
Here it is, the literal wee hours of the morning, and I woke up from a dream where the police stopped me for speeding and I was totally pissed because I had just left my own driveway and accelerated coming out of a turn when I see the flashing blue and red lights indicating I should pull over. Now I cannot get back to sleep, and having noticed that the computer was merely asleep and not off, I decided to tire myself out by looking at its screen instead of making myself some chamomile tea, which was my original intent.

I went to the CAA and got my picture taken for my new driver�s licence and medicare card. I should have it by next week. I wanted to buy a learner�s driving guide in English (we already have one in French) but they were all out and have ordered one for me, which should also be in next week. I was told by the guy who sold me the car insurance that CAA would also provide a visual inspection for my over-10-year-old Volvo, but I was informed that they do not do that there, and was given an address and phone number of a place which is truly out of the way.

So instead I just headed over to the insurance office with my cheque and the agent said that she would do the inspection right then and there. That was convenient. I had already discovered that my former insurer had put the wrong serial number for my car on my policy and during the inspection we found that the label stuck inside the driver�s door did not have the same number on it as the identification plate on the dash. Then I remembered that when the car was still relatively new (to us) it had been in an accident (parked outside my brother-in-law�s in Cambridge while visiting over New Year�s, a woman did a 360 on ice and hit the driver�s door, necessitating the rental of a car to get us home) and at that time the door was replaced. That accounted for that. So she made all the corrections to the file and I was on my merry way. The new policy should also be arriving within the week.

It was now getting close to studio class time, so I headed over to the university (first I went to the pharmacy for some things and bought a Mars bar which I ate; this is the first chocolate bar I have eaten in ages!). My student who performed did a great job. I was very proud of her. When I hear something like that where a student who had great potential but serious obstacles to achieving it has now overcome those hurdles and sounds great, I feel truly vindicated.

There was a recital last night, piano quartet, and the programme was early Beethoven, early Dvorak and early Strauss. Very easy to listen to, very enjoyable. At the reception afterwards I had my own little crowd of admirers, which is kind of weird since I�ve never been in that position before. I guess joining the choir has really increased my visibility in the department.

When we got home, Hubby played the CD the technician made of our concert last week. The Cacci0p0 was really good. In C was recorded at all different levels and the soprano is too loud (that�s me). Someone from the VictoriaviIIe new music festival called because they heard about this programme, and Hubby would like to send them a recording so they would consider having us on their season.

I think I�ve been up long enough. I may not be sleepy yet, but I am cold, and the thought of crawling in next to my own personal fiery furnace has quite a bit of appeal. So I will turn off the computer now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>