Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Schlock concerto

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004
11:59 p.m.
I am sitting here trying to remember what I did today. I think I went shopping at one point for milk and other comestibles. Then when I got home the house was full of teenagers filming a project for Buddy Boy�s English class and Hubby was just on his way out to buy a conductor�s baton. So I quickly put away the perishables and joined him so I wouldn�t have to be around the mayhem that had taken over my house.

We headed over to ArchambauIt where we did in fact buy a baton as well as a book of jazz tunes with vocals. We also looked at acoustic guitars and then headed next door to buy some jazz CDs. Then I think we went to the mall because Hubby needed new squash shoes. Sp0rt Expert didn�t have his size, so we went to Intersp0rt, which did, and then we stopped at HMV (which, for those of you who don�t know, is short for His Master�s V0ice) where Hubby purchased a CD of what the salesman said was �progressive rock� but which we decided is neither rock nor progressive. On the way out we stopped at the leather store where I finally bought the mini-skirt I have had my eye on for a while. It was still on sale at a third of the regular price, which I considered a deal, although it was still more than I would normally pay for a garment of its nature.

We went to the symphony tonight (this I am sure about, having just returned) which featured a programme of mostly Wagner overtures and such, the highlight being the Sigfried Idyll. The orchestra doesn�t have enough strings to balance the heavy brass section for this composer, with the end result that they sounded kind of wimpy. There�s a section in the Tanhauser overture where the first and second violins sound like nagging hausfraus. It was pretty funny.

The soloist was a harmonicist who played the schlockiest concerto ever written for any instrument. It was terrible! But, in true mediocre Townships form the audience leapt to its feet and applauded thunderously. I must admit that the soloist was a virtuoso on his instrument. Unfortunately he was playing garbage. The reception afterwards was quite nice. I chatted with my Barbadoan friend and he and Hubby planned to meet for some indoor tennis. I wore my new skirt and felt quite chic. We drove home with snow pelting the windshield. Hooray. Not.


from tcklyrpharsn:

�I must admit that the soloist was a virtuoso on his instrument. Unfortunately he was playing garbage.� Man, if I had a dollar... I�m getting really sick of these new music concerts and all the wonderful performers WASTING their time on SHITTY MUSIC. AAARGH. It kills me, it does.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>