Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Il pleure dans mon coeur comme il pleut sur la ville.

Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2006
10:14 p.m.
I’m just heading off to bed, an early end to a not particularly great day. It was raining lightly all day, overcast and very dreary. Around 2 p.m. I took a couple of extra-strength pain killers for a headache that just seemed to get worse instead of better. Sitting in the music department lobby with a couple of students, I found the lighting extremely dim, just wishing that some bright sunshine would come through the windows.

I taught a pretty good lesson, in spite of the headache, and considering that I didn’t sing all of last week and my upper break seems to deteriorate almost immediately after a few days of vocal inactivity. This is crazy. It means I really have to practise daily. It would be so incredibly easy to stop, just to quit singing altogether, descend into vocal silence. But when it’s going well, it’s so good. I guess I’m not yet ready to call it quits.

So, to be honest, I was depressed today. My husband is away, my kids weren’t home for supper, and I’m starting to experience the “superfluous mom” syndrome. They only things they really need me for are to do their laundry (which I’m sure they could figure out for themselves) and to give them lifts (which wouldn’t be necessary if they would only learn how to drive, for Pete’s sake!) to and from.

Hubby called this evening just around suppertime. He was on his way out the door to a special gala ($120 entrance fee) the CMC was putting on tonight, where his accordion quintet was being played in anticipation of the CD, the recording of which he’s presently supervising. It sounded very chi chi. Luckily they supplied him with a comp, but he was unable to bring a guest because he’d have to shell out the $120 ticket price. Ha!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>