Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m off to see the movies...

Thursday, Oct. 19, 2006
9:00 p.m.
My second attempt at creative non-fiction is almost ready to submit. I asked Buddy Boy to read it and, while he made a comment about how some parts don�t seem to flow smoothly into other parts, due to back and forward flashing, things which I can work on, he really liked it. It�s the story of the cookies he made when he was about 10 which turned out terribly because he didn�t know the difference between baking soda and baking powder combined with the story of how I tried to make my mother a birthday cake substituting Sugar Twin for the real thing, and how both were unmitigated disasters.

Speaking of flashing, I�ve been having quite a few of the hot variety lately. They wake me up at night, at approximately 3:30 a.m. in fact, so I�m getting up to have a pee and trying to get back to sleep. Last night wasn�t too bad, but the night before I must have woken up three or four times. I actually had one in Latin class yesterday morning, and started flapping the neck of my turtleneck sweater and said rather excitedly to the young man on my right who was watching my antics, �Stop looking at me like that!� I tell you, this peri-menopause stuff is for the birds.

I�m still trying to find someone to use my other symphony ticket for Saturday. I asked a woman in choir, the widow of the man who taught pottery at the college, but she has family here this weekend. I tried to give both of them away to the new classics professor, but she and her husband already have plans. Little Princess is going to a different concert, Buddy Boy is doing stuff with his friends, so I�m at a loss. I�d hate to waste them, and I really don�t feel like going by myself. It�s an all-Beethoven programme though, and they�re playing the Eroica and the violin concerto.

However, I do have a date for ce soir. Little Princess� friend Ed called wondering if she wanted to go to see the film at Centennial Theatre tonight, the one about the girl in the pool, and I had been thinking about going. So he�s coming to get me just after 9 p.m. It�s just as well, as my daughter has homework and came home with a sore throat and definitely feeling under the weather, which was a little better today. Ah, here he is now. Toodles!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>