Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Nutty as a fruit cake, all dusted with snow.

Friday, Nov. 18, 2005
2:25 p.m.
I awoke this morning to this:Image hosted by Photobucket.comand to this:Image hosted by Photobucket.comand the snow was still falling. Since then the sun has come out and our driveway and the roads are clear, but the temperature outside is still below freezing, and I actually got out my winter coat and dusted off my boots when I went to the university for today�s studio class recital.

While I was out my annual fruit cakes were baking in the oven and the house smelled divinely like cinnamon and butter and allspice when I stepped in the door. Once they cool I will douse them in brandy and orange liqueur and leave them to steep in the cold cellar until it is time to give them away as yuletide gifts.

Tonight my Little Princess� band plays at a local pub and her father and I will brave the decibels and possible cigarette smoke (I�m informed that they may still allow that nasty habit at this establishment, though I hope they don�t) in order to support our daughter and her friends. Buddy Boy is not pleased, as he is yet too young to attend this particular venue. That�s all right with me. The longer he stays out of bars, the better.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>