Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Flutes

Saturday, Nov. 19, 2005
4:46 p.m.
All right, make fun of me. Yes, I�m old; yes, I get into bed at night and my feet are freezing and my poor husband is getting tired of me warming them up on his various toasty body parts�but I have found a solution, for me anyway. While I was at Costo the other day, overdoing the free samples (I love the month before Christmas when the sample ladies are at every row end, sometimes facing each other, with tasty titbits of whatnot to tempt you to part from your money, especially the chocolate truffle lady) I considered for no more than three minutes, then took the proverbial plunge and placed a package of Queen size flannelette sheets in my shopping buggy. Yep. I did. I brought them home, washed them, dried them, and they are now on my bed and I just had the most wonderful nap between them. I can hardly wait to slide between their soft-and-coziness tonight and revel in my warm-footed state. There is always a chance (a big one, considering the guy with the overactive metabolism who shares the space with me) that my husband will find them too warm, but I think we can safely get away with a lowered thermostat, thus saving money and the environment while keeping my ice-cold lower appendages from his warm thighs.

A nap in the middle of the afternoon? How incredibly decadent of me! You see, last night Hubby and I went to a concert of not one, but two flutists with a pianist at our place of employ (which allows us to see concerts for free, thus saving us a small fortune). I have openly admitted that flute is not my favourite instrument, and two flutes together are akin to guitar duets and trios, the reason being that they can never play in tune and I hate the sonorities of close harmonies when that is the case. We missed the first piece, a sonata by Bach, because Hubby was playing electric guitar in the living room and I was chatting on the internet with a friend in a far-flung time zone, loath to say goodbye and actually put on some makeup (but I eventually did that). The second piece was a flute duet of the most incredible nature, there were no thirds and sixes out of tune, but counterpoint and soaring melodies. Not only that, but the two flutists were so incredibly tight that someone asked me later if they were married (they are not), one of them being the guy who teaches for our department, and the other a friend of his. The pieces with accompanist were more like the flute repertoire that I dread, but she (the pianist) was incredible, and the two soloists were amazing. I have never been to a concert like that.

Afterwards Hubby and I attended the bar where Little Princess� band was opening for another local group. This pub is upstairs from one of our worse town restaurants, probably dating from the disco era (evidenced by the disco ball and coloured lights and smoke machine) and the music was so incredibly loud that I was grateful for the orange foam earplugs I carry around in my purse. My daughter�s ensemble was reasonably all right (Led Zeppelin they�re not) and she was pleased with their performance. The other band was shite, but we stayed for a couple of numbers because it is full of our students in the department and my husband promised them he would come to hear them. It was such a relief to leave the building, breathe the clean, cold night air and leave the elevated volume behind.

Quebec�s official cut-off date for smoking in public places is January 1, 2006, but Sh�brooke and L�ville voluntarily banned the practice in most venues last summer. This one didn�t. Added to that, the government in its dubious wisdom has decreed that it is too cold in January for its constituents to brave the blizzards in order to satisfy their nefarious habit and are putting the date back again to a time when the weather is more clement. This is where it would be appropriate to shake your head or roll your eyes.

Anyway, my children have gone off to play laser tag with my daughter�s friends, and I guess it�s just Hubby and me for supper. I feel a gourmet meal coming on. Heheh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>