Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Organic? No thank you.

Sunday, Sept. 17, 2006
7:27 p.m.
There was an organ concert in the chapel and a reception afterwards at the home of good friends of mine, seeing as how the artist was a friend of theirs and they had stayed with him when visiting a particular region of France. I have no idea how it went because I did not go, even though the host had called specifically to invite us a couple of weeks ago and I assured him that I had it pencilled into my agenda and was planning to attend. However, I could not have gone to the concert without afterwards gracing the reception, and that would have meant standing around making small talk with all those people who are no longer my friends and who may never have been my friends if they were so quick to dump me in the first place; and besides, Little Princess asked me if I would take her to the $$ store and I had not finished my Latin homework for tomorrow.

So my daughter and I made the long trek to the mall (it’s 15 minutes, but around here that’s a long trek) only to find that the $$ store did not carry the item she coveted, namely a flat, bound book of lined pages with an elastic to hold it shut in the same style as the legendary M0Ieskine, except much, much cheaper, in which to write up her physics labs. The $$ store was out of practically all stationery items, which makes me think they haven’t had a chance to restock since the back-to-school rush.

I found a beautiful pair of earrings which I must convert if I want to wear them on my virgin lobes and I’m beginning to think that it’s time for me to invest in a soldering iron. Little Princess also treated me to a latte, which was really very sweet of her, and we shared a biscotti. That word, being Italian, looks like a plural, in other words it should be un biscotto, due biscotti, but I only ever hear it referred to in the singular with the plural ending. If I wanted to make a big deal out of it, it would be just a little disturbing.

We stopped at the biblairie on the way home to see if we could find clip-on earring forms for me and the notebook for her, but they had neither. That’s a little discouraging. Instead we came home and I went back to translating Cicer0 until it was time to make supper. The trees are changing colour in earnest now, and there were some absolutely glorious ones along the river that just glowed in the late afternoon sun. This is such a beautiful canton. Now if only I can do something about the people.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>