Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Damn technology!

Monday, Sept. 18, 2006
11:51 p.m.
This is my second attempt at an entry tonight. The first one disappeared when I accidentally hit the wrong button and I just couldn’t find it again.

The forecast was for sun and a high of 27°C. It did not disappoint. I worked up a sweat walking to and from the university today, and perspired mightily in belly dancing class tonight. Lise started off with “cardio baladi”, which was similar to an aerobic class except that it was bellydancing moves. After a summer of slothfulness, it was quite the workout. Patsy amazed me. She was doing very well for someone who had missed the whole spring session because of shingles.

We also had a really interesting Latin class this morning. We’re translating the four speeches of Cicer0 to the senator CataIine who plotted against the republic, and we got through the first two paragraphs of the first one today. This may take a while.

I also taught my first lesson of the term, which was a lot of fun. I chose a M0zart piece called Warnung wherein the singer warns fathers to keep their daughters close because young men find them “tasty”. There’s even a line that says das schmekt so gut. And I met the two new sopranos who have been assigned to me, one of whom was really happy to be in my studio. That made me feel very good.

It's late, I'm off to bed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>