Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am a musician!

Thursday, Dec. 17, 2009
8:32 p.m.
I feel like a real musician again and I realize now how much I missed it. The last hour and a bit was spent with my French horn player and his accompanist, whom I am joining in February to perform Schubert’s Auf dem Str0m on a recital in our department series. I absolutely love playing chamber music. Singers get to do this so rarely, but it’s so incredibly fulfilling. This is what I want to be doing. Really.

The weather has become frigid as we get a slightly warmer version of the -45°C temperatures that the Canadian prairies just experienced. Today the high was -17°. I stayed in as much as possible, but in the house the mercury never really rose above 10°. The fire in the wood stove didn’t help enough and all day my hands were like blocks of ice. Of course, if I had been thinking, I would have moved up to the attic where the hot air congregates. It’s much more comfortable here.

I did go out, though, to pick up the very last edition of Black Cat Tales (XI). The group is now finished and I am sad. We can blame it on Patsy retiring and moving to the province of her (and my) birth, but I think Janice was ready to throw in the towel anyway and this was a convenient excuse. On the same trip I stopped at the bank to renew an investment and then drove out to the mall where I bought Hubby’s Brumalia present at an electronics store. There goes my marking money.

The kids will be home Sunday or Monday. I really can’t wait.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>