Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am too critical.

Thursday, Nov. 16, 2006
10:45 p.m.
The weather has been incredibly balmy. This is unheard of. I went with Buddy Boy and his friend JD to see the play the college drama class put on at the hanger (or hangar, I’m not really quite sure what they call that building) on campus, and we walked out of there at 9:15, me just holding my fleece jacket, not needing it, it was so warm. Now it is raining, and the forecast for tomorrow is just as high. I can’t believe that I was freezing in Calgary just a few days ago.

The new mattress and box spring arrived this morning and Buddy Boy helped me assemble it. I hope our guest, who arrived here at about 5 p.m., has a good night’s sleep. At least we won’t have to worry about the bed breaking underneath him. He was amazed that the temperature here was the same as what he had left in San Ant0ni0, TX this morning.

I offered to help Janice out with the typing and formatting of our writing group’s annual publication, and she gave me Patsy’s contributions to transcribe. I’ve done that. Now I want more work. Interesting.

Anyway, the play we saw was C0cktaiIs at Pam’s, a very silly bit of fluff that was quite funny, but the actors were wanting in quality. Some were very good, but others were pushing it. Then there was the matter of most of them being francophones working with an English script, and their accents were distracting, as well as the occasional emphasis on the wrong syllable. You’ve got to remember that with Quebec’s Bill 101, most of these francophone kids are studying in English for the first time in their lives. The director, Lolly from previous entries, has done the best she can with them. It wasn’t terrible. Just not great.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>