Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

More griping.

Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2006
10:03 p.m.
It’s supposed to rain tomorrow, again. So what else is new? It’s hard to believe that it was below freezing in Calgary just a few days ago. It has been absolutely balmy here. Tomorrow the temperature is supposed to rise again, a high of 16°C, a low of 10°. Weird for this time of year. (As I type this, I am experiencing a hot flash, perspiration is breaking out on my upper lip and I must desperately rid myself of the fleece sweater I’m wearing.)

I’m starting to rethink my participation in choir. I joined because I missed singing in such an ensemble after 17 years of abstinence. I had other reasons too, such as wanting to hang out with the students more, also being a visible thorn in the side of the “assistant” conductor of the ensemble, who hasn’t actually done any conducting. But the politics of the group is getting to me, as well as the size, the fact that so many of the members are musical illiterates and that it takes way too long to learn the simplest music, that the handing out of solos is done in a very strange way, and that this same assistant is conducting her chapel choir on this concert coming up, and not the choir of which she is the purported “assistant” conductor, plus the fact that she is doing a duet in the Bach with a student of hers, who also happens to be the firstborn of Herr Doktor Professor, although that’s not his fault. I purposely did not ask to do a solo on this concert because I felt that they rightly belonged to the students (even though Dr. M. will have one, but then he’s a tenor, and that speaks volumes), and also there was a hue and cry sent up by a few of them last year because professors were “taking” solos from students (this probably pertained to my singing La Wally on the spring show last April, even though it was an extremely short selection and no student in the choir could have sung it anyway). So I do not understand this latest development. I am just sucking it up, as they say, but I’m not happy about it and wonder if this is really what I should be doing.

I can’t seem to find contentment in this department. I want to have an ensemble to sing in, but there isn’t one nearby that appeals to me. The university choir is the most convenient, and it’s in English, which is a plus, but it’s not very good. Ideally, I should start my own. But then I would be the responsable, and I really don’t want to do that. It seems rather unfair.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>