Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The shit winds have hit the shit fans, and they’re calling your name.

Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2008
10:09 p.m.
This evening, as I was looking for something else (this is the way it always happens), I found the municipal tax bill, the first installment of which was payable in March, unpaid on top of the microwave oven. It makes me wonder what other bills I have been remiss with, what other important bits of mail have been shoved into odd places where I never found them again.

The shit regarding accompanists has hit the fan in an enormous way. I am so fed up with my department chair, and a certain other full-time faculty member for that matter, that I am almost ready to quit. I won’t, though, because I care too much for my students.

My university webmail inbox is quite stuffed with emails from my chair and dean and c.c.’s from others relating to this matter. I wrote a beautiful response to the dean’s message this morning, only to have it disappear when I hit “send” because my session had expired, and of course it was nowhere to be found, not even in my draft mail folder. So I started writing a new one, only to realize that it would never be as good as the first, so I gave up. I ended up finally getting it down later this afternoon.

It’s ugly and I don’t really want to discuss it because it still makes my blood boil, but at least my students have an accompanist for their juries on Saturday, and she is going to get paid for some of her time. That’s all you really need to know.

I taught three students their last lessons today. This evening I wrote up several reports with grades. I also attempted to get some more Latin homework done. I just want it to all be over so I can escape from this place for a while.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>