Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pissed. Off. Not drunk.

Thursday, Apr. 17, 2008
9:02 p.m.
I’m tired and a little pissed. Pissed off. Just a little. The weather was absolutely gorgeous. It’s like we live in this godforsaken climate where snow covers the ground for six months (if not actual time, then perceived time), and suddenly the grass is bare (albeit brown and covered with all that shit the snowplow throws up on the lawn), crocuses are blooming purple against the dullness of it, a ladybug is crawling across my monitor, and the students are walking around town in shorts and T-shirts and sandals. I hung out two loads of wash, and reveled in the sunshine and the birdsong.

I also taught two students today, one of whom is singing her jury on Saturday, the other still has another lesson next week and is not performing a jury. There have been no more nasty emails regarding accompanists, and I am relieved at the reprieve. Two girls came over this afternoon for tea, both in the choir, both sopranos, neither one is a music student. One of them brought her two blue T-shirts in exchange for one each of my green ones and Little Princess’ orange ones. I will then exchange a blue one for a purple one when I see another of my students next Tuesday before she heads off for points east. It’s complicated. Do I really need to explain?

Then Hubby said, “Let’s go to the Lion for supper!” so we did that, sitting on the terrace until the sun started going down and it got too cold to sit outside any longer. We brought our pitcher of beer inside with us and waited a very long time for our dinner to arrive. A very long time. In the meantime, the hockey game (Habs v. Bruins) was being shown on the big screen and we chatted with someone we knew who was watching it.

For the record, I really dislike hockey. I don’t approve of the wanton violence, which doesn’t seem to further the play of the game, and actually seems to slow it down. I hate being made to wait for my dinner, and I hate it when my husband takes me out and then ignores me because he’s watching the game on the big screen. I talked with a man who is friends with our friend, but I was in a bad mood which didn’t really lift until after I got to eat my meal, which of course was too much, and was brought home in a box. I drank half a glass of beer, and Hubby finished off the rest of the pitcher.

Now I have to pack my suitcase as I go tomorrow for a weekend getaway to visit the incomparable j-leem who is the proud momma of a wee lassie born last week. I’ll be gone until Monday night, when I may or may not update my diary. We shall see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>