Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Not quite on the road again.

Friday, July 15, 2005
12:56 p.m.
Okay, okay, I should be on the road by now, at least past Montreal in Dorion eating lunch at McDo�s or Dead Tim�s. But no, I am getting a quick update in because Hubby, the man I love and with whom I have thrown in my lot, is having trouble packing the car. He never has trouble packing the car! He claims to be the world�s best car packer ever. However, this time around we have four suitcases (of varying sizes and rigidities), two electric guitars, one small amplifier, one boom box, one electric violin, birthday presents (at least we left the wedding present in Toronto when we were there last) and various and sundry. For the first time ever we are using our rooftop carrier, having strapped the two Sams0nite cases onto it (one of them is mine, let�s hope it doesn�t go flying off the way one poor fellow�s did a few cars ahead of us one time), and hopefully there will be room for all the other stuff. I am just rolling my eyes at all this, having said earlier, �We don�t have enough room for all those things,� and being told, �Don�t worry! I�m a master packer!�

I didn�t credit yesterday�s photograph. J-L took it in Trinidad last March, overlooking Maracas Bay. I guess you already knew it was of me, laugh lines and all. I actually prefer the French term for those pesky crow�s feet: rayons de soleil. Now, wouldn�t that make a great before picture for those teeth-whitening strips?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>