Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The rain came down�twice!

Thursday, July 14, 2005
8:00 p.m.
The weather has been extremely cyclical today. It was very hot this morning, which built into a convection storm this afternoon (I got my laundry in just in time, thankfully it was already dry), then the freshly cooled air heated up again, and we were showered once more this evening. The sun is now setting beyond the hills which mark the other side of the valley, pillowing into yet white clouds, while the screen on the attic window drips sunset-lit jewels.

I called the Duke today and invited him to come over and harvest currants while we are gone. All three varieties, red, white and black, are ready and the bushes are heavy withthe ripe fruit. I made quite a bit of jam last summer, so I�m not too concerned about picking them at this stage. We are trying to mend bridges here, so it was a neighbourly act to ask him to help himself to our bounty. As I told him on the phone, it�s either him or the birds, and the birds will get them anyway. As a matter of fact, berry-laden droppings are staining my laundry these days, not a pretty sight.

The plan is to drive tomorrow to Toronto, stay overnight with my mother, and then head on to Guelph on Saturday for the annual birthday party. Hubby is out at the moment, shopping for his father, brother and brother-in-law. I got out of it this time, citing my desire to finish the corrections before we head to points west.

I hemmed Buddy Boy�s new trousers today. They were 7" too long! I certainly hope he grows, but not that much. The stain on the jacket sleeve came out fine with my home ministrations and I did not need to take it to the dry cleaners. So far so good. Little Princess is borrowing a dress of mine (it�s stretchy and she�s bigger than I am) and I have decided to go with the purple Chinese silk number that I can wear as long as I keep my gut sucked in.

You know, I�m actually procrastinating about getting back to work. I think I have no more excuses. So, in closing, I shall be far from the internet for the most part and far from my friends. If I have a chance at my sister-in-law�s I�ll try to update, but I can make no promises. For those of you online I didn�t get a chance to say goodbye to, I�m sorry. I�ll be back Sunday night, July 24. Mwah!

.

.

.

THIS

IS

SUPPOSED

TO

BE

DEAD

SPACE

SO

THE

PICTURE

BELOW

IS

NOT

OBSCURED.

.

.

.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

|

<~~~ * ~~~>