Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’m distracted.

Thursday, Dec. 14, 2006
8:02 p.m.
I am updating because I have to and not because I have anything to say. I mean, I don’t have to update, but it’s become such a habit, and it’s also a welcome distraction, yet another distraction, from that damned Latin translation, which in itself is driving me to distraction.

Hubby and I took the Volvo back to the garagiste this morning because the power windows still weren’t working, and he found that there were yet more problems with the electrical system. You see, this is an old car, and we don’t drive it that much. It sits on the driveway, when it really wants to be curled up on the rug next to the wood stove or at least in the garage where it used to live before that upstart young Subaru came and pushed it out of its rightful place. It’s not driven enough to keep the rust from the moving parts, and it doesn’t even have that many kilometres on it for its age.

Anyway, we got the bill for the three days it was in the shop: approximately $600, not a pretty pre-Christmas present. According to our garagiste, this vehicle is not worth anything anymore, but he does have a lead on a 2000 Imprezza standard that a woman in Montreal is looking to sell. So, that’s a possibility. I don’t drive standard, but Hubby can, and this might be the opportunity I need to learn.

Okay, I need to go and scribble down some more Cicer0nian nonsense.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>