Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

There is absolutely nothing new to report.

Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2006
8:36 p.m.

Seriously.

Actually, that’s not true. I taught a lesson today, the last lesson of the semester, to my student who is sick too often, who announced to me brightly when she arrived--late, as she often does--that she is the proud possessor of bronchitis, a condition that causes her to cough, which is what she did on several occasions as I was trying to teach her the finer points of legato and alignment of pitches in Schubert’s An die Musik. To give her credit, she is a hard worker, in spite of the fact that she is too often laryngitic, and in today’s session she actually succeeded in doing what I asked, as well as (I hope) understanding why I was asking for it, and when she did, she definitely sounded good, really good. See, I am a good teacher. I just need good students.

Other than that, Cicer0 progresses apace, which means slowly, and I have now come to admit and accept that I really do need reading glasses (I never thought it would happen to me, really I didn’t) as every time I sit down and look at the book I start to feel ill. Or maybe that’s a psychosomatic response to the work itself. Oy.

Okay. Enough. Back to work. (sound of whip cracking)


|

<~~~ * ~~~>