Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We saw nought of McNaught

Saturday, Jan. 13, 2007
5:43 p.m.
Today we went comet chasing, having been informed by the newspaper and encouraged by my brother who emailed me a couple of photos he took of the comet just after sundown from his kibbutz (it’s a white blur in a red sky) that it would be visible in the southwestern sky about a half-hour after sunset, and thinking that the gravel pit would be the best place to view it from seeing as how we have the best view from there, we hopped in the car, all four of us, zoomed over the hill, parked in somebody’s driveway, had a great sighting of Venus, but alas there was no comet. And of course it was very cold. So we returned home, disappointed. We hardly ever get clear skies in the winter, so there’s probably no chance we’ll see it tomorrow.

This evening I betook myself to see the play again. The hall was totally packed, many of them repeaters like myself. I had a blast. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must repair to the kitchen where my daughter’s friend Ed is drinking jasmine tea, since he was my “date” tonight, and I have very rudely left him with her while I came in here to check my email and update my diary. I’m not a very good hostess.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>