Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Two flutes and a piano

Saturday, Jan. 13, 2007
10:38 a.m.
I’ve noticed from my stats that many people have followed the link to read the story I posted, and yet not a single one of you has left a comment of any kind. Please, I beg of you, leave me feedback. I really want to know what you think of it. Remember, this is the entry that didn’t make it to the short list, and I’d like to know what other readers have to say.

Hubby and I went to a recital at the music department last night, the first of the new year, only because his new piece for two flutes and piano was receiving its world premiere thereupon. He’s on sabbatical this term, remember, and is trying to stay away from that place as much as possible.

The concert went well. The ensemble consists of our flute teacher, his wife, and their friend. The couple plays together as only a married couple can, incredibly tightly, their tones match incredibly well. They played Bach and Debussy and Lieberman and Doppler (of course) and some British composer whose name escapes me, and of course Mr. Elgan. The latter was very well received by the audience, and the players loved it. Even though I had barely finished copying it (we sent off the pdf’s about two weeks ago), they had attained a very high level of performance. Extremely impressive.

There was the usual reception in the lobby afterwards, and then I came home and played on the internet (totally forgetting to write a diary entry) for about an hour before going to bed with a headache. I hadn’t had any cranial pain for what seemed like an age, which is very unusual for me since I practically live on headache medication. The start of the new semester must have something to do with it, no? Or it could be hormonal. I’ll have to think about that one.

Buddy Boy and I came up with the perfect definition of an annoying person, and I send this one out to essaywriter who knows what I’m talking about: An annoying person is someone who invades your space and wastes your time with meaningless drivel.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>