Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Use the force, El, use the force!

Saturday, May. 12, 2007
10:05 p.m.
I offered to print out and proofread the first movement of Hubby’s symphony, and I’ve been doing that, but it’s really tiring with reading glasses propped up on my nose over my regular distance glasses. Now I know why he keeps encouraging me to get those graduated bifocal thingies. Oh well.

My first Mother’s Day present has been presented to me, a pot of white chrysanthemums. Little Princess has asked me if she can take me out for lunch tomorrow, a first. I can handle this, believe me, I can.

It was cool today, and the forecast for tomorrow is cooler yet. We can still get frost here until the beginning of June, which means I daren’t do any real planting before then. But I really ought to start digging up my back garden, tilling in the compost and preparing it for the annual basil and tomatoes. I’ve already got my seed for the former, and must head out to the nursery soon to get my half-dozen of the latter. Maybe I can get Buddy Boy to help me, if he hasn’t got a job yet.

I realize I’m rambling here. A definite danger of having nothing to say. On the other hand, I did finish my sequel to The Little Mermaid and have passed it on to a friend to read and give me criticism. I don’t consider it complete by any means, and I plan on giving it a bit of a berth for a few days and then coming back to it with a fresher outlook.

Upon further investigation, the Quebec writers competition requires that submissions be 1,200 words or fewer, which means that this piece, at over 2,700 words, is too long. Perhaps I can submit it to the CBC Literary Awards, the deadline not being until November. I’ll think about it.

In the meantime, I had a strange dream this afternoon while I napped, an unusual occurrence in itself because while I often lie down and try to rest, I very rarely fall asleep. In this dream, I was a Jedi knight trying to keep two guys from killing me, guys who really didn’t have any quarrel with me except that I was trying to keep them from killing each other because I needed both their help in saving the universe. Just as I was getting to the point where they were about to cooperate, the phone rang and woke me. I hate it when that happens!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>